top of page

Borle's flamboyant Shakespeare

Tony winning actor Christian Borle performing as a flamboyant, sassy and fabulous William Shakespeare. Thank us later.

SHAKESPEARE: My days are so busy it's making me dizzy There's so much I gotta do There's lunches and meetings and poetry readings And endless interviews Gotta pose for a portrait And how I deplore sitting there for eternity Then it's off to the inn Where my innkeeper friend Wants to name a drink after me Then it's back to my room, where I resume My attempt to write a hit Just me and my beer and the terrible fear That I might be losing it And it's hard (It's hard) It's hard (It's hard) It's really, really hard So very very hard I make it look easy but honey believe me It's hard (It's hard) It's hard (It's hard) It's so incredibly hard So inconceivably, unbelievably hard It's hard to be the bard! [spoken] Honestly, I don't know how I do it. There's only so much of me to go around I've got so many fans With so many demands I can hardly go take a piss (He can't pee) Be it theater-freak or The autograph-seeker They all want a piece of this (Gimme, Gimme) It's a cross that I bear I'm like Jesus, I swear It's a burden but I suffer through it (He is suffering) It's all part of the game The trappings of fame But somebody's gotta do it And I know, I know I gotta go And get back to my pen and ink Oh don't make me do it Don't make me go through it Can somebody get me a drink? Cause it's hard (It's hard) It's hard (It's hard) It's really really hard It's sexy but it's hard This bar that I'm Raising to be this amazing! It's hard (It's hard) It's hard (It's hard) It's so annoyingly hard So unavoidably, un-enjoyably hard It's hard to be the bard, baby [spoken] Ugh. I know writing made me famous, but being famous is just so much more fun. You see... What people just don't understand Is that writing's demanding It's mentally challenging and it's a bore It's such a chore To sit in a room by yourself Oh my god, I just hate it! And you're trying to find An opening line or a brilliant idea And you're pacing the floor And hoping for just a bit of divine intervention That one little nugget that one little spark Then Eureka! You find it you're ready to start So now you can write, right? Wrong! You're not even close, you remember that damn it Your play's gotta be in iambic pentameter Cause it's hard (It's hard It's totally hard) It's hard (It's hard It's totally hard) It's hard (It's hard It's totally hard) I've got fortune and fame Everyone knows my name I can't help it it's still freaking hard

bottom of page